AAC divisions announced, USF in the East Division

Posted: May 30, 2014 in Football

From the AAC – The divisions were announced today during the league’s annual meeting. The CEO’s of the conference voted unanimously for the two divisions which will begin in 2015, with the first conference championship beginning that year.

Here are the two divisions:

2015 American Athletic Conference Football
East Division West Division
UCF Houston
Cincinnati Memphis
UConn Navy
East Carolina SMU
USF Tulane
Temple Tulsa

So what does it all mean? For starters, the East has several strong teams in it including ECU, Cincinnati and UCF. The West, at least on paper, is not as strong at the top with Houston and Navy being the two powers that most people will pick out (although don’t sleep on Tulsa). USF will have a tough time in the East division with several quality teams standing in their way.

However, at the end of the day, it honestly doesn’t matter which division has the better teams, it comes down to one simple thing for USF: WIN. I’ve heard a lot of people critiquing the power imbalance between the east and the west but that shouldn’t matter to USF at this point. Let’s worry about having a winning season in football and basketball before worrying about who has the stronger division.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s